Women Faculty Moving Forward: Securing the Future


Women Faculty Moving Forward: Securing the Future

Sunday, August 5, 2018, Washington, D.C.

Sponsored by the AEJMC Commission on the Status of Women, the Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Center for the Advancement of Women in Communication at Florida International University and the AEJMC Council of Affiliates, held the  sixth annual workshop designed to help junior women faculty members move forward in their careers through mentoring, networking and preparing for tenure and promotion and administration or other leadership positions.

The workshop is designed for tenure-track women, and a cohort of 25 women were selected for the pre-conference workshop on Aug. 5, 2018, at the AEJMC annual convention in Washington, D.C. Applicants must be AEJMC members.  Speakers, panelists and roundtable leaders include senior scholars and administrators and women colleagues who have achieved significant leadership positions in their careers.

Keynote speaker for the workshop was Jan Slater, chief marketing officer, College of Business, and professor of advertising and former dean, University of Illinois. Panelists include Carolyn Bronstein, DePaul University; Jinx Broussard, Louisiana State University; Laura Castañeda, University of Southern California; and Radhika Parameswaran, Indiana University.

In addition to the training and networking at this workshop, participants, were designated Kopenhaver Center Fellows, and were invited to take part in activities of both the CSW and the Kopenhaver Center during the year and receive publications of both groups. They will also be invited to reunite with previous cohorts to network at subsequent conventions.

2018 Kopenhaver Fellows

Janelle Applequist University of South Florida
Mariam Alkazemi Gulf University for Science and Technology
Kyung Jung Han California State University
Claudia Kozman Lebanese American University
Rachel Young University of Iowa
Sada Reed Arizona State University
Amal M. Bakry University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Melanie Formentin Towson University
Madeleine Liseblad Middle Tennessee State University
Shugofa Dastgeer Texas Christian University
Erika K. Johnson East Carolina University
Li Chen West Texas A&M University
Arien Rozelle St. John Fisher College
Megan McFarlane Marymount University
Magda Konieczna Temple University
Holly Overton University of South Carolina
Megan Duncan Virginia Tech
Jessica Maddox University of Alabama
Pallavi Guha Towson University
Kay-Anne Darlington University of Rio Grande
Enaski Roy Western Kentucky University
Eunji Chung Auburn University
Gigi McNamara University of Toledo
Geah Pressgrove West Virginia University
Search this website