Women Faculty Moving Forward: Pathways for Success


Women Faculty Moving Forward: Pathways for Success

August 6, 2019, Toronto, Canada

Sponsored by the AEJMC Commission on the Status of Women, the Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Center for the Advancement of Women in Communication at Florida International University and the AEJMC Council of Affiliates, held the  sixth annual workshop designed to help junior women faculty members move forward in their careers through mentoring, networking and preparing for tenure and promotion and administration or other leadership positions.

The workshop is designed for tenure-track women, and a cohort of 36 women were selected for the pre-conference workshop on Aug. 6, 2019, at the AEJMC annual convention in Toronto, Canada.  Applicants must be AEJMC members.  Speakers, panelists and roundtable leaders include senior scholars and administrators and women colleagues who have achieved significant leadership positions in their careers.

Keynote speaker for the workshop was Amy Reynolds, dean, College of Communication and Information, Kent State University. Panelists included Carolyn Bronstein, DePaul University; Jinx Broussard, Louisiana State University; Laura Castañeda, University of Southern California; Rochelle Ford, Elon; and Radhika Parameswaran, Indiana University.

In addition to the training and networking at this workshop, participants, were designated Kopenhaver Center Fellows, and were invited to take part in activities of both the CSW and the Kopenhaver Center during the year and receive publications of both groups. They will also be invited to reunite with previous cohorts to network at subsequent conventions.

Search this website