Fifth Annual AEJMC Workshop and Kopenhaver Center Hosts Largest Cohort of Fellows


The Kopenhaver Center and the AEJMC Commission on the Status of Women hosted their fifth annual Women Faculty Moving Forward Workshop, with the largest number of fellows yet,  at the AEJMC Conference held in Chicago, IL, on Tuesday, August 8, 2017.

This year’s session, Women Faculty Moving Forward: A Pathway to Success in the Academy, featured a keynote speech by Lori Bergen, University of Colorado, and past-president of AEJMC. She was followed by a panel of senior scholars, administrators, and women who have achieved significant leadership roles in their careers.

Panelists included Bey-Ling Sha, San Diego State University; Jean Folkerts, Kansas State University; Laura Casteneda, University of Southern California; and Maria Elizabeth Len-Rios, University of Georgia..  The panel was moderated by Tracy Everbach, University of North Texas.  Nancy Green, chair of the Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Center for the Advancement of Women in Communication Leadership Council also contributed to the session.

Panelists discussed issues to help women faculty move forward in their careers through mentoring and networking, balancing work and life and research, preparing for tenure and promotion, looking at leadership roles, and surviving early career years. The panel was followed by roundtables discussing similar issues of importance to participants.

Jennifer Greer, University of Alabama, incoming president of AEJMC, keynoted a session for returning Kopenhaver Center Fellows from the previous four years.   Her keynote address was titled Women Moving Forward: Cracking All Ceilings.

The Kopenhaver Center Fellows for 2017 follow:

Adaobi Vivian Duru University of Louisiana
Alysia Steele University of Mississippi
Amanda C. Bright Eastern Illinois University
Amanda J. Weed Ashland University
Amber Roessner University of Tennessee
Andrea L. Guzman Northern Illinois University
Caitlin Ring Carlson Seattle University
Carolyn Kim Biola University
Dunja Antunovic Bradley University
Elizabeth R. Smith Pepperdine University
Emily A. Ehmer Texas State University
Erin Coyle Louisiana State University
Eunice Kim University of Florida
Evangeline W. Robinson University of Mississippi
Ginger E. Blackstone Harding University
Ioana A. Coman University of Wisconsin
Ivanka Pjesivac University of Georgia
Janice Marie Collins University of Illinois
Jennifer G. Ball Temple University
Jennifer Hoewe University of Alabama
Jennifer Sadler University of Mississippi
Jessica Myrick Penn State University
Jill Hopke DePaul University
Jiun-Yi (Jenny) Tsai Northern Arizona University
Kristen Alley Swain University of Mississippi
Kristin Gustafson University of Washington
Kylah J. Hedding University of North Carolina
Lana G. McDonnell Texas A&M University
Laura Crosswell University of Nevada
Lisa Lenoir Stephens College
Loren Saxton Coleman University of Southern Mississippi
Mary Liz Brooks West Texas A&M University
Meg Heckman Northeastern University
Michelle Baum Metropolitan State University of Denver
Monica Chadha Arizona State University
Ngozi Akinro Texas Wesleyan University
Pamela E. Walck Duquesne University
Pearl Gluck Penn State University
Sabrina Habib Winthrop University
Sarah E. Erickson University of Michigan
Sheila Peuchaud University of Nevada Reno
Sheryl Johnson-Ross Howard University
Stephanie Madden University of Memphis
Stephanie Smith Virginia Tech
Summer Harlow University of Houston
Tara Mortensen University of South Carolina
Twange  Kasoma Radford University
Valerie K. Jones University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Vanessa de Macedo Higgins Joyce Texas State University


Search this website