South Florida Media Network receives 2020 EPPY Award for best college-produced community website


The award-winning South Florida Media Network (SFMN), led by digital director Charles Strouse was honored at the 25th annual EPPY Awards for Best College Produced Community or Niche Website.

SFMN won first place, beating out the Newark Graduate School of Journalism at CUNY for NYCity News Service and Temple University’s Department of Journalism for

“This national award is a tremendous honor and puts us in some rarefied company,” says Daniel Evans, Miami bureau chief for SFMN. “Thank you to everyone for helping the site to shine! It is truly a team effort.”

This year’s EPPY Awards took place on Oct. 27 through a virtual ceremony, due to the Covid-19 pandemic and received more than 450 entries.

Winners were selected from an international list of nominations to honor the best digital media websites across 38 diverse categories, in addition to categories for excellence in college and university journalism. Each category was separated into websites with more than 1 million monthly unique visitors, and those that receive less than 1 million. Winners must receive a score in the top one-third of the average score across all categories within their division.

The South Florida Media Network was also named a finalist in the Best Video on a College Website category for their piece, “Mother and son offer autism training to first responders.”

This national award is another in SFMN’s history of prominent recognition. Other awards include a Hearst Award for Breaking News Coverage, Mark of Excellence Award by the Society of Professional Journalism (SPJ) for Online/Digital Feature Videography, Best Coverage by SPJ for Campus Coronavirus Coverage and more.

To view all the winners from the 2020 EPPY Awards visit,,178548

To learn more about SFMN and to stay up-to-date on their latest coverage visit, or follow them on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Search this website