Communication Arts Scholarship Winners


Three outstanding FIU students have received financial help to fund their graduate school aspirations thanks to scholarships from the Communication Arts Department. The scholarships are awarded to students who demonstrate exceptional leadership skills in school activities, academic achievement, and commitment to community service. With a large number of applicants for each scholarship, Communication Arts faculty members had difficulty choosing the winners, but after in-depth reviews of the students’ records, they made their selections.

The Kathleen Watson Memorial Scholarship:

Nicole Alvarez, Communication Arts senior, is the recipient of the Kathleen Watson Memorial Scholarship, awarded to Communication Arts majors who have taken Business and Professional Communication (COM 3110) – the course Kathleen Watson taught for many years – and received a grade of at least a “B.” Alvarez said that the class helped her develop the communication skills she needs for what she hopes will be a career in the music business. This past summer, Alvarez interned at Focus Marketing Group, working with their musical artists in the Dominican Republic. After graduation in May 2016, she plans on attending New York University for a graduate degree in Music Business. She was recently elected as the Vice President of Lambda Pi Eta, the honor society for Communication Arts majors for the 2015-2016 year.

The Gus Amaya Memorial Scholarship:

Sarah Hernandez, Communication Arts senior, is the recipient of the Gus Amaya Memorial Scholarship awarded to a member of Lambda Pi Eta. She served as the Vice President of Lambda Pi Eta and was just elected to the position of President for the 2015-2016 academic year. Under her leadership, Lambda Pi Eta’s membership tripled, and she spearheaded regular chapter meetings and improved the chapter’s overall unity, organization, and infrastructure. In addition to her leadership role with Lambda Pi Eta, Hernandez is also member of the Order of Omega Leadership Honor Society, Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society, and Delta Phi Epsilon Sorority. She is the Communication Arts Department’s marketing and communication intern this fall and plans to attend graduate school for Communication Studies after graduation.

Jorge Herrera Memorial Scholarship:

Debate team member Katia Florit is the recipient of the Jorge Herrera Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship is awarded to students who best represent FIU Debate Team alumnus Jorge Herrera’s team spirit, leadership, and hard work. Florit has been on the debate team for over two years and credits debate for developing her leadership skills and improving her communication skills.

After graduation Florit plans to attend law school and credits her time on the debate team for helping her prepare for her future. She explains, “In order to become a lawyer, one needs: interpersonal and public speaking skills, writing skills, argumentation and debate skills, reading comprehension skills, and a global perspective about current political topics and theories. Being a member of the debate team has fostered all of these skills and abilities in me.” She will oversee the newly formed Debate Team at FIU’s Biscayne Bay Campus for the 2015-2016 year.

Please join us in congratulating the scholarship winners.

To apply for the Spring 2016 scholarships or to learn more about the history of the scholarships:

Kathleen Watson Memorial Scholarship

Gus Amaya Memorial Scholarship

Jorge Herrera Memorial Scholarship




Search this website