Alumni Recognized with Awards in Seventh All-Media Juried Biennial


FIU Art + Art History students, faculty, and alumni are featured in the Seventh All-Media Juried Biennial at the Art and Culture Center of Hollywood. Alumna Kerry Phillips was awarded second-place in the Biennial and alumni Eddie Arroyo (FIU BFA ’01) and Juan Neira (FIU BA and BFA ’15) were recognized with honorable mentions.

This year’s Biennial features 87 works of art by 78 artists. Overall, 383 artists representing 21 different Florida counties submitted 1,084 entries for consideration. The winners of cash prizes were announced at the opening reception on Friday, September 18th:


Best in Show: Carrie Smith
1st Place: Clara Varas
2nd Place: Kerry Phillips
3rd Place: Jordan Massengale

Honorable Mentions

Eddie Arroyo
Linda Behar
Karla Caprali
Deming Harriman
Juan Neira
Troy Simmons
Jeff Whipple

All artists residing in the state of Florida were invited to submit entries of contemporary artwork for consideration in this Biennial. Original paintings, drawings, prints, sculpture, photography, video, computer-generated images, performance, and site-specific installations were considered.

Award winners were selected for Best in Show ($2,000 prize), First Place ($1,000 prize), Second Place ($600 prize), Third Place ($400 prize), and Honorable Mentions. This year’s jurors are Marisa J. Pascucci, Curator of Collections at the Boca Raton Museum of Art, and Elizabeth Cerejido, Independent Curator of modern and contemporary Latin American art and photography. Artist Michelle Weinberg curated the exhibitions. (Source)

The artists who participated in the Seventh All-Media Juried Biennial were:

Miroslav Antich, West Palm Beach Mally Khorasantchi, Naples
Eddie Arroyo, Miami Monique Lassooij, North Miami
Maria Theresa Barbist, Miami Jill Lavetsky, Lake Worth
Linda Behar, Parkland Dan Leahy, West Palm Beach
Sarah-Twiggy Boyer, Coral Springs Jordan Massengale, Pembroke Pines
Todd Brittingham, Plantation Jillian Mayer, Plantation
Lujan Candria, Miami Michael Mills, Wilton Manors
Karla Caprali, Cutler Bay Laura Mintz, Bay Harbor Islands
Leo Castaneda, Doral Juan Neira, Doral
Erika Cespedes, Loxahatchee Rick Newton, West Palm Beach
Angelica Clyman, Pembroke Pines Edison Peñafiel, Sunrise
Barbara Cooper Hanson, Miami Kerry Phillips, Miami
Stephanie Cunningham, Ft. Lauderdale Sri Prabha, Hollywood
Neil De La Flor, Miami Alexander Richard Carbonell, Miami
John DeFaro, Miami David Rohn, Miami
Colby DeGraaf, Boca Raton Alina Rojo, Miami Lakes
Cara Despain, Miami Jorge Sanchez, Miami
Reniel Diaz, Miami Beach Ivan Santiago, Miami
Reed Dixon, Boynton Beach Lissette Schaeffler, Miami Beach
Jane du Brin, Fort Pierce Gretchen Scharnagl, Miami
Erman , Miami Elle Schorr, Lake Worth
Daniel Fiorda, Miami Beach Stuart Sheldon, Miami
Abby Funk, Delray Beach Kocabasi Sibel, Lake Worth
Justin Gaffrey, Santa Rosa Beach Troy Simmons, Miami
Lorna Ruth Galloway, North Miami Carrie Smith, Clearwater
Nick Gilmore, Miami Bethany Taylor, Gainesville
Deborah Goldman, Key West Kristen Thiele, Miami
George Goodridge, Miami Beach Alba Triana, Miami
Sandi-Jo Gordon, Aventura Clara Varas, Miami
Isabel Gouveia, Lake Worth Jovan Karlo Villalba, Miami
Amy Gross, Delray Beach Evelyn Walg, Aventura
Deming Harriman, Miami Beach Jill Weisberg, Dania Beach
Cecilia Hecht, Hollywood Jeff Whipple, Jacksonville
Rachel Henriques, Ft. Lauderdale Michael Williams, Miami Beach
Peter Hosfeld, Miami Shores Agustina Woodgate, Surfside
Carol Jazzar, El Portal Angela Yang, Fort Lauderdale
Maria Soledad Jofre, Hialeah Joni Younkins-Herzog, Sarasota
Brookhart Jonquil, Miami Juan Carlos Zaldivar, Miami Beach

The Seventh All-Media Juried Biennial will run until Sunday, November 1st, 2015 at the Art and Culture Center of Hollywood: 1650 Harrison Street, Hollywood, FL 33020.

The featured image is Michael Williams, Of + D, 2013, 36”x36”x1.5”, Watercolor on Canvas, and it is from the Art and Culture Center of Hollywood website.

Follow FIU Art + Art History on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Search this website